A bad WIAW

April 30, 2014

Today’s What I Ate Wednesday is from last Sunday, the day I got nauseous while spinning. Gotta throw in a couple days where things don’t go so perfect to keep it real. As always, go toPeas and Crayons for a full description of WIAW.

I started the day with some Monday Morning Muesli from La Dolce Vegan. I was feeling a bit uninspired, and I keep a jar of this around ready to eat. Here’s the recipe:

Monday Morning Muesli

3 cups rolled oat flakes

1/2 cup wheat germ

1/2 cup sesame seeds

1/2 sunflower seeds

1/4 pumpkin seeds

1/2 nuts (your choice), roughly chopped

1 cup dried fruit (your choice)

Mix in a large bowl and store in an airtight container. Makes approximately 6 cups.

I had 1 cup of it (dry), with a tablespoon of honey drizzled over it:

Monday Morning Muesli

Then I headed to the Neenah-Menasha YMCA for my ill-fated spin session. I brought with me 2 raw chocolate almond bars, 2 chocolate chip oatmeal raw bars and 1 pouch of powerbar blasts (strawberry banana). For liquid calories I had 3 scoops of Hammer Heed dissolved in 2 water bottles. In the pic below, the little red container to the right is 1.5 scoops of Heed, which I saved to mix in the bottle bottle after I drank the first. That way I can have 1 bottle of water and 1 of Heed at all times, and I don’t have to carry 4 water bottles with me.

I got 1 of each down, plus half of the second oatmeal bar, the pouch of blasts, and almost all of the Heed before the nausea hit. Nothing else made it into my stomach until after the clinic, when I was able to finish the Heed and the other half of the bar.

Shove it in your shorts actual

Later when I got home I was finally hungry again. I needed something quick again, so I made some wraps using a chopped up Boca Burger patty, veggies, and dijon mustard. Below is the guts for 1 wrap, and the other pic is the two that I made before I ate them. They were pretty fancy, you should be jealous.

Wrap IngredientsWraps final

Those filled me up and I didn’t get anything else in me the rest of the night, even though I know – KNOW – I should have. I just couldn’t and I just went to bed. Do as I say, not as I do.

Training Peaks

Monique Ryan’s Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes book estimates that I burned about 8.7 calories per minute of cycling (conservative estimate) x 210 minutes = 1827 calories. Two miles on the treadmill is about 200, so lets just say I burned at least 2,000 during the workout. Estimating how much I burned at the swim clinic is difficult, but I think it’s fair to guess about 200 over the course of the two hours, from shivering if nothing else – that water is cold when you’re not constantly moving!

Speaking of, I didn’t post this pic of my two awesome friends LuAnn and Deb from the clinic before because I forgot to ask for permission at the clinic and needed to wait hear from them later. Here they are – They did a great job at the clinic! So glad they came!

Luann Deb 1

Wait, what was I talking about? Oh yeah, not eating enough. So…lets make an educated guess of 2,200 calories burned total. Adding in the 1,360 that is my basal metabolic rate, I burned a total of 3560 calories. I ate about 2,900, for a deficit of 660 calories, not counting any extras I burned during the day just moving around and such. Yay! (sarcasm).

I was pretty happy with the mix of carbs/protein/fat though:

Training Peaks Swim Clinic Day

I went ahead and ate more calories Monday and Tuesday to help make up for it. So far, I’ve felt fine, so I think it’s safe to say it was just a hiccup. Hopefully not too many more will happen:)

Leave a Reply

