A case of the Mondays

Feb. 25, 2014

Alright, normally I’m all sunshine and rainbows (ha) but I’ll be honest…I had a case of the Mondays today. Last night I met up with a friend for a drink, which turned into 2. And then I told the bartender I was good, but he heard me wrong and brought a 3rd. I swear it really happened that way! Not that it excuses my poor decision to drink that 3rd one instead of telling him he was wrong. I don’t really drink much these days, so that was one too many. I felt buzzed, and it messed up my sleep later – I was wide awake from 2am to 4am. Coincidentally, this is also the time that my upstairs neighbors apparently like to let out their pet elephant to prance around their living room, but I digress…

The point is, this morning I chose to sleep in rather than get to the pool for my swim workout. I had my cranky pants on the rest of the morning, though work did help a little and I felt better as the day went on. I work until 8pm on Monday nights, and my last client cancelled, which normally would lead me to go home early and relax….until I realized I totally had enough time before the YMCA closed to get that swim workout in.

UUUGGHHHHHHHH!

I did not want to swim. But, I knew I would feel better, and less guilty, if I went and swam, so I sucked it up and dragged my sorry butt to the pool.

And I was so glad I did! I felt a lot better afterwards. :) I didn’t want to do a big endurance workout or anything, and I wanted to play with my pool toys – so I picked one of Sara McLarty’s workouts – “Paddles and Fins.”

Paddles and Fins

B:
500 warm up
6×50 @ 1:20 (kick/drill by 25)
6×75 @ 1:30 (3/5/3 breathing pattern by 25)
6×25 pull @ :40
4×150 pull @ 3:00
6×25 swim @ :40
4×150 swim @ 2:45
6×25 w/fins @ :30
4×150 w/fins @ 2:30
200 cool down

*3700 Total*

Paddles, workout, fins – Ready to go!

Workout on kickboard 1

I thought the total yardage would be too much, but it was ok. Again, I felt so good afterwards. Totally the right decision! Now I’m off to  bed :)

Leave a Reply

