Ah…the dreadmill.

Jan. 4, 2014

Well, usually I run on Saturday mornings with the Pacesetters. But this morning when the alarm went off at 6:30am and I heard the howling wind outside I thought “Nope.” I pulled the covers up over my chin and went back to sleep for 3 more hours. It was wonderful.

Of course, later it was nice out and I regretted it. I wondered if my brain just made up the howling wind because my body wanted to binge sleep. Whatever. I still decided to run on the treadmill anyway, because I was a bit tired from swimming and spinning yesterday, and I wasn’t sure how long I’d be able to run. One of the dangers of running outside in the winter is if you have to stop and walk a bit, you can get hypothermia. Sweat + cold air = brrrrrr. So, you should be sure you can do the distance you set out to do, all running. This is one of the days where I decided the treadmill would be a good idea for me personally.

And it wasn’t terrible. I actually felt really good until about 4 miles in. Then the fatigue hit me. I have found that in endurance sports that there is a fine line between pushing yourself to your limit so you get better (yay!) and being a total idiot (not yay!). For me, that line today was right at 60 minutes of running.

Now I’m off to make some tea and read a book. Hope you’re having a relaxing Saturday!

Leave a Reply

