Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Raw Bars

April 3, 2014

Today I’ll present another good Energy Bar recipe: Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Raw Bars.

Here’s the recipe from the website, with my pictures added:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup pitted, chopped fresh Medjool dates
  • 1 cup gluten free oats
  • ½ cup raw almonds
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup gluten free, vegan chocolate chips, I (recipe’s author) use Enjoy Life brand.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Raw Bars 1

Instructions

1. Combine the dates, oats, almonds, and salt in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the “S” blade. Process for 1-2 minutes until all of the ingredients come together like a dough and are similar in size with no large chunks remaining

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Raw Bars 2 text  whrrrr Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Raw Bars 4

(Note: I usually find I have to add 2-3 tablespoons of water to get the dough to hold together like you see in the above pic).

Add the chocolate chips and pulse until incorporated.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Raw Bars 6 whrrrr Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Raw Bars 7

Transfer the dough to a small sheet pan or plate lined with parchment paper and shape the dough with your hands into a rectangle.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Raw Bars 8Slice the dough into bars and serve immediately or store in the refrigerator until ready to eat.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookie Raw Bars 11

Obviously I cut them into 4 bars instead of 6.

These really have a great flavor! Much sweeter than I expected. I like the chocolate chips – nice to have the chocolate flavor, but not be as intense as the Raw Chocolate bars.

Training Peaks

Training Peaks estimates these bars are 1800 calories per recipe, making each bar about 450 calories if you do 4, or 300 if you do 6 bars.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Bars Training Peaks

You can see the bars are mostly carbohydrate, with very little protein (the red part):

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cooking Raw Bars

I wish these had a little more protein, but I think it’s ok as long as I use these before or during a workout – the lack of protein probably means they wouldn’t be good for recovery. Anyway, I really like these, and totally plan to add them to my regular rotation of energy bars. Maybe it will be warm enough soon for me to try eating them on an actual bike, outside…. :)

Leave a Reply

