Do you Sproing!?!

Feb. 6, 2014

Tonight (Wednesday) after work I met my friend and fellow Tri Fox Rookie-of-the-Year Greg Prellwitz for a swim and some strength training. We met at the Neenah-Menasha YMCA. This is the “meter pool” though today it was set to yards. Yep, it’s adjustable. It’s hard to see in this photo, but in the back is diving well, and the wall in between is movable to meters and yards. I think it was set to yards today because the swim team was in the 4 lanes to the right doing a practice.

Neenah Menasha YMCA 2 whole pool

Don’t worry, they had 2 lanes designated as Lap Swim Only, which worked well for these two (three? ;) ) foxes:

Neenah Menasha YMCA 4 Fuzzy Goggles

I swam 2,000 yards, mostly continuous. I enjoy doing sets and workouts, but sometimes I like to just swim. Tonight was one of those nights.

Then we went up to do some strength training. The weight machines are all spread out, and both of us happened to notice a new, strange machine in one of the rooms we were in. It is called a Sproing.

Sproing 4

What? You don’t know what you do with a Sproing? Don’t feel bad, we had to read the instructions too. It’s apparently some sort of running machine. You literally strap yourself in and run on the black pad.

Sproing 1

Apparently it’s supposed to simulate running on a beach. The pad provides a soft surface for you to run on. It doesn’t move like a treadmill, so you just kinda…run in place. On a pillow. While tied to the machine by a harness….

I alternate between laughing at this concept, and admiring the creativity. I don’t think I’ll be adding it to my training regimen, but in all seriousness, I can see how it can be useful for some people with bad knees and for rehab. If you’ve used one – Let me know what it’s like!

Leave a Reply

