On the treadmill, but not in prison

Jan. 12, 2014

So, this article appeared in my facebook feed today talking about how treadmills first appeared as punishment for prisoners. Having spent many, many hours on a treadmill, I can see where this would make perfect sense as a punishment! Of course, I have no idea if it’s true, but I thought I would share it anyway:

treadmill-prison_6

http://mentalfloss.com/article/12275/treadmill-originated-prisons

I had to run on the dreadmill again today because of the continued ice outside. Since I ran in the afternoon today – I got to sleep in! – it might have been ok, just wet. Still, I decided to err on the side of caution and headed to the Y. I got a good 7 miles in:

Treadmill 7 miles 1

Considering I rode on the indoor trainer yesterday for 2 hours, I was very happy with 7 miles. I only felt like death the last half! :) And of course, I appreciated those poor prisoners even more when I got done!

Leave a Reply

