Scott and my Garmin triathlon bundle

March 8, 2014

This afternoon I met my friend Greg for a light workout. Fridays are a rest day, but my training plan does allow for light workouts too. Right now it’s still sometimes fun to do a little workout on Fridays…talk to me when my weekend workouts increase to insane amounts. ;)

Greg saw my post about the virtual spin bikes and was curious about them, so we met at the Heart of the Valley YMCA and I spun on them for about 45 minutes. Then we hit the pool for an easy swim. And look who I ran into!!!:

Scott and I 2

That’s my buddy Scott who I talked about meeting the other day! He was just finishing, and I was just starting, so I jumped in quick and got this photo. Look how cute we are with our matching Garmin* watches. :) Except – I have the triathlon bundle. Scott thought this was pretty cool. The triathlon bundle has a quick release system which allows me to take the computer part off the wrist band with a 1/4 clockwise turn:

Garmin Side Garmin Unattached 2

And put it on my bike, which has a matching quick release part:

Garmin Bike LineGarmin Bike 2

The computer has a function which allows you to switch between the different sports with the touch of a button. Each sport will then display whatever data you set it up to show. So you can use it for the swim**, then put on your bike and it becomes a bike computer, and then put it on the wristband for the run and it’s a running watch. Pretty nifty, huh? :)

We then met up with some of his friends for dinner at the Stone Cellar Brewpub – delicious as always! But now I’m super tired, so I’m off to bed. I’m running with the Pacesetters tomorrow morning, and I’m a little ridiculously excited about how warm it’s going to be! It might not hurt my face to run!!! Woot!!!

*For a more in depth review of the watch and the bundle, than I could ever hope to write, here’s DC rainmaker’s review of it.

**Except you don’t want to wear it on your wrist while open water swimming, for two main reasons: 1) Here in the Midwest, we tend to swim in less-than-crystal-clear lakes and rivers. And it’s black and doesn’t float. If you wear it on your wrist, it might just quick release itself into the murky depths of wherever you’re swimming, never to be found again. I actually witnessed this occur while watching a friend compete at the age group national championships in Milwaukee last year. How that guy wasn’t sobbing in a heap about losing his several hundred dollar computer, I don’t know, because I would have been! 2) Wearing it on your wrist, which is flailing around with each stroke, really messes up the GPS tracking. Instead of wearing it on your wrist, take the computer off and put it under your swim cap. The computer won’t have any problem getting a signal under the cap, and the cap will hold it to your head, which is much more still and therefore will provide you with more accurate GPS data. Now you know! :)

Leave a Reply

