What I Ate Wednesday

Jan. 16, 2014

Today’s What I Ate Wednesday is from last Sunday. (For more info on What I Ate Wednesday, head over to Peas and Crayons). I started out with, of course, PANCAKES!! This is my favorite pancake recipe: Whole Wheat Grain and Nut pancakes. It includes whole wheat flour, oatmeal, and walnuts for a little protein. They can also be made vegan with an egg replacer and using soymilk instead of dairy milk. I like they have nuts, because nuts are super healthy, but I don’t really naturally love nuts like some people…. so, sometimes I also grind up the walnuts rather than put them in whole, and it works just fine. That’s what I did with this batch. This is just a plain stack of 5, plus tea in my Star Trek mug ;) :

Stack of Pancakes and tea

I didn’t take a picture of them with a topping such as syrup, because I like to use a variety of toppings when I can. Like: Honey, pure maple syrup, jam, and peanut butter.

All the Pancakes

A little while later, all carbed up, I went for a 7-mile run. When I got back, I had a tofu recovery smoothie, made with silken tofu, almond yogurt, orange juice, a little strawberry jam for extra flavor, and frozen strawberries and peaches. The recipe makes two glasses:

Tofu Recovery Smoothie two

Later that night, I had a bowl of The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World, Almost fat free cornbread from the Moosewood Low Fat cookbook, and an 8-bit ale:)

Chili Cornbread 8 bit beer

And of course, a beer. Ok, ok, I confess…I had a second beer too:

Stone Arch 6 grain beer

This beer is the Six Grain Ale from the Stone Arch, which is a local brewery in Appleton, WI. It was great!

Aside from the beers, it was a pretty healthy day..I think… :)

Leave a Reply

