What I Ate Wednesday

Feb. 5, 2014

Today’s What I Ate Wednesday is from Saturday’s Ironride at the YMCA. If you’ve not heard of WIAW, head on over to Peas and Crayons to read more about it.

The ride started off at 6am, so this bleary-eyed triathlete didn’t get much chance for breakfast. I had half a water bottle with 1 scoop of Hammer Heed in it on the way to the ride. Below is what I had at the ride: 4 scoops of Hammer Heed (2 in each plastic container below), 2 theRaw energy Cashew Almond bars that I made earlier, 2 of my (free) powerbar energy blasts, and 2 ounces of Hammer gel from my flask. I packed the flask because I thought I might want more, but I was actually ok with just the 2 ounces.

During the Ride

For the record, I brought more than this with me, because I wasn’t sure what I would need. I re-created what I ate for this photo, with just what I ate. I’m still learning about what I need, and what my tummy can handle, on long workouts. This seemed to work great.

After the ride, I had lunch with my Tri Fox mentor Amy to catch up with each other and to go over some planning for an upcoming Tri 101 event the club is putting on, and we went to a bagel shop nearby. The shop didn’t have hummus or much else for protein, and although it looks good in the photo below, it was pretty tiny and a bit underwhelming. We got bagel chips to share too.

Sad WrapBagel Chips 1

I promised Amy when I got home I would eat more protein (and I was still hungry), so I made two wraps with Gardein Chipotle Lime Crispy Fingers and salsa. Yep, the whole package of the fingers. And yep, that’s all that was in the wraps. I was tired and not feeling all that creative. Just wanted to sit and eat, so that’s what I did.

Tacos 2

Later that night I made a more fancy meal: Curried eggless egg salad on wheat bread with avocado, red onion and spinach. I had the other half of the avocado, an apple, and grapes on the side, and mug of blueberry tea in my scrabble “T” mug. ;) I had strawberries for dessert.

sandwhich finishedstrawberries

The curried eggless egg salad is made from soft tofu, some veganase, a little mustard powder, and some curry powder. It may sound weird, but it’s delicious, trust me.

Here’s what I estimate I ate as broken down by Training Peaks:

Ironride TP

Total calories were 3559. Trouble is, I have no idea how many calories I burned while spinning for 6 hours. I usually figure I burn 400 per hour cycling, so that would have been about 2400 calories burned. I’ve based this number off a nutrition book I have, but of course that is just an estimate. I wasn’t starving at the end of the day, or the next day, so I imagine I was pretty close to even. I’m happy with that for this point in my training.

Happy Hump day everyone!

Leave a Reply

