What I Ate Wednesday

Feb. 26, 2014

Today’s WIAW was from last Saturday’s workout day. If you’re new to WIAW, head on over toPeas and Crayons to learn more about it.

I had two slices of homemade Honey Oat Bread for breakfast. Yep, just the bread, shoved in my face without anything on it. I didn’t take a picture…sorry, I was tired. Here’s one of the ones another user posted:

Honey Oatmeal Bread

It looked just like it, I swear! Except I use a bread machine, so there was no oven involved. A good  bread machine is worth every penny, if you ask me. :) I also had some Hammer Heed dissolved in a bottle of water on the drive there.

Then while biking I had more hammer heed and a pouch of PowerBar Bursts:

Powerbar Blasts

Afterwards, Greg shared with me part of his Kind granola bar, and then we went to Seth’s Coffee Shop for a post-workout treat. I had Jasmine peach tea, Greg had a fancy coffee, and we split a piece of Raspberry Coffee Cake:

Raspberry Coffee Cake

Later when I got home I had some veggies in Rogan Josh curry sauce on brown rice. I didn’t put any protein in this batch, so made a Tofu Smoothie to drink with it:

Curry and Reovery Smoothie

For dinner, I knew I needed some more protein, so I made a seitan loaf. Seitan is “wheat meat” – it’s made from vital wheat gluten. This is the part of wheat/bread that everyone loves to hate these days, and if you have Celiac disease, you should not even look directly at it. :)I’ve never had an issue with gluten, and I enjoy seitan now and then as a break from tofu. I love this recipe for Seitan from Hungry Hungry Hippie. Most recipes call for boiling the seitan in a huge stockpot, which is huge pain the rear. I found this recipe, and it’s as good and easy as it sounds, I haven’t looked back since!

Seitan and Potatoes

I also made some vegetarian gravy – it’s good, I swear! And a baked potato and some sad broccoli “florets” (read: tiny bits) from my freezer. Yay cheap veggies. And a beer…cuz that’s the end of the hard day tradition. Just don’t have three…just one:)

Here’s what Training Peaks had to say:

Training Peaks Brick Day

I estimated I burned 600 calories spinning for 90 minutes, and 300 running for 30 minutes. So that’s 2260 calories burned for the day: Resting Metabolic Rate of 1360 + 900 = 2260. Training Peaks estimates I ate 2389 calories, so that’s pretty right on! Woot!

Lastly, here’s my fat cat, Bink, trying to “help” me refill the cat food container. He would like this to be his WIAW. I’m pretty sure that’s too many calories for him in one day, but I’m also sure he’d give it a shot. DREAM ON, Bink, DREAM ON! ;)

IMG_2317

Leave a Reply

