What I Ate Wednesday – Pettit Run Day

Jan. 22, 2014

It’s Wednesday, so here’s today’s What I Ate Wednesday! (For more info on WIAW, head toPeas and Crayons!)

Today’s WIAW documents what I ate on Saturday, when I went to run with my friend Rachel at the Pettit Ice Center.

The day started with some very tasty Vegan Banana Bread my awesome girlfriend made! This is a mini-loaf, and I had half of it.

Banana Bread

We had to get up a little early, and had stayed up wayyyy to late night night before, so we also stopped at Starbucks where I got a large tea:

Starbucks Tea

Not pictured: I had 1.5 scoops of Hammer Heed during the run, and was surprised I felt great without needing anything else. Please note this is unusual for me, nor do I recommend it – normally for a 10 miler I would have at least 1 gel, quite possibly 2. I don’t know why I felt so good, but I really didn’t need any gel, so I didn’t have any. My girlfriend and I then had coffee/Tea with Rachel at Stone Creek Coffee – I had another tea, but forgot to take a picture. Imagine another cup just like the Starbucks one ;)

Then we went to one of my favorite restaurants – the Comet Cafe in Milwaukee. This was really a treat for me. The Comet Cafe as a great laid-back diner feel with a hipster atmosphere, and is very Vegan/Vegetarian friendly. From their website:

Comet specializes in from-scratch comfort food and craft beers. We use fresh, seasonal ingredients that are characteristic of the Midwest and purchased from as many local businesses and purveyors as possible. Come visit us for breakfast, brunch, lunch, dinner, drinks, home made desserts and bacon! We also have lots of vegan and vegetarian menu options for those who only love bacon in spirit.

To drink, I had a Blonde Root Beer from the Silver Creek Brewing Company, located in Cedarburg, WI. We had the Brunch menu, and my girlfriend had Kelly’s Vegan Scramble: “Tofu, bell peppers, mushrooms, spinach, vegan sausage and touch of vegan gravy served with hashbrowns and toast.” I had the Leghorn Sandwich, made vegan: “Pulled chicken (vegan: Field Roast) with (vegan) cream cheese, red onions, tomatoes, romaine lettuce and cucumbers topped with peach jelly, served on whole wheat bread.” We shared, so I took a pic of both:

Comet Food

For dessert, I had a vegan Mexican Chocolate Cupcake:

Mexican Chocolate Cupcake

Why yes, it WAS heavenly. A little touch cayenne with the chocolate…mmmm.

soup and wine 2

Later that night I had some of my girlfriend’s barley, lentil and vegetable soup with some bread and a glass of red wine. :) It was a good eating day!

Leave a Reply

