WIAW and a Bike day

March 18, 2014

Happy Hump day! As always, here’s my shout out to Peas and Crayons for the inspiration for What I ate Wednesday.

I started the morning with a Rise and Shine bar. It was 5am and I didn’t think to take a picture. So here’s an old one. Imagine I ate just one. :)

Rise and Shine Bars Sliced 2

Then I headed off for my workout. Today was a bike day. I had to go to the YMCA to spin, since Delores is in the shop getting all ready for Spring.

Here’s the workout I did:

Warm up (15 minutes)

Main Set

3 x 5 minutes (15 minutes):

20 seconds fast/40 seconds easy

40 seconds fast/20 seconds easy

1 minute fast/2 minutes easy

6 x 5 minutes (30 minutes)

3x (45 minutes >100 RPM, 15 seconds easy)

2 minutes easy

10 minute cool down (Total spin workout = 70 minutes)

Then I quick hopped on the treadmill for a 2 mile run which took me a little over 18 minutes at 9:05 (6.6 MPH) rate. (The plan called for 15-20 minute run).

I modified it very slightly and how it was written so that I could better understand it while cycling. :) To keep it where I could see it, I wrote it out ahead of time on a piece of paper, and borrowed a piece of tape from the front desk to tape it to the bike, just below the computer.

Spin bike 20th Ave

Back to the food! During my spin I had 1.5 scoops of Hammer Heed and some GU Chomps Blueberry Pomegranate flavor.

Gu Chomps Blueberry Pom

I’d never had GU Chomps before. The texture was fine and they were just like most other chews out there. The flavor was just ok. I could see myself using them again, but not craving them.

When I got to work, I made a bagel with peanut butter, to make sure I had some protein and carbs to replace what I burned in the workout.

bagel with peanut butter

For lunch, I was also super fancy and made a can of Progresso Lentil Soup with whole wheat bread and a granola bar for dessert. I know, it’s impressive. Be jealous. And yes, I eat at my desk most days.

Lentil Soup and bread  Kashi Granola Bar

Later, when I got home, I had a better dinner – homemade deep dish pizza.

Vegan Deep Dish Pizza

Except there’s a twist with this pizza. It’s made with Daiya vegan mozzarella cheese. I’d heard of this vegan cheese and that people gave it great reviews. I was curious so I thought I would test it out.

“Teresa, how was it?”

Me: “I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – there are no good vegan cheeses.”

But, this one was ok. Better than most. It won’t fool someone who is used to eating cheese though, not by a long shot. Like the chomps – it’s something I’ll probably use now and then, but never crave.

Training Peaks

According to Monica Ryan’s Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, a cyclist weighing 120 pounds cycling at 15 mph burns about 8.7 calories per minute. Let’s uses that, since I know I wasn’t at 20mph, which is other option in the table. So 8.7 x 70 = 609. According to her table, a 120 pound athlete running at 7 mph (a little faster than I was) would burn 10.2 calories per minute. So let’s go with 10, and I ran about 18 minutes, so let’s say I burned 180 calories. Together, that’s 789, let’s just say 800 to keep ourselves sorta sane.

Training Peaks says all the food I ate today was 2116 calories, but I burned 2140, a deficit of 24 calories. Almost perfect…except this does not include the 300 or so I allow myself for just living the dream. So technically I probably didn’t eat enough today. I don’t feel hungry though. Maybe I’ll force myself to have a snack later and update you all tomorrow. :/ If I do, I’ll make sure I have some protein, cuz I probably under did that today too:

WIAW Tuesday march 18

Still getting used to eating right for all this stuff…

Leave a Reply

