WIAW Chicago!

March 5, 2014

Happy Wednesday everyone! For today’s What I Ate Wednesday, I’m going to show you what I had on Saturday when I visited my friend Renee in Chicago. If you’re new to WIAW, head on over to Peas and Crayons to learn more about it.

I started the morning out with a drive to Chicago. I wasn’t hungry when I work up, so I grabbed one of the free PowerBars I got from the triclub meeting and had it on the way.

Powerbar

Eating this bar was an excellent reminder that I don’t really care for the texture of Powerbars.

I had 1.5 scoops of Hammer Heed during the spin class, and a GU Salted Carmel gel just before the run.

After the workout, I was REALLY hungry. I still had a little time  before meeting with Renee, so I contemplated getting lunch. But all I could really see around me were chains like Noodles and Company and Chili’s. Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoy these restaurants, but I didn’t come to Chicago to eat by myself at a restaurant I could eat at in my hometown! So I opted for a Chocolate Brownie Clif Bar and some patience:

Clifbar

Later, Renee and I went to The Brownstone Tavern and Grill, and I had the hummus and guacamole platter:

Lunch

It was worth the wait! The hummus had a really good chili spice on it, and the guac had real avocados. I ate it all, plus Renee’s Guacamole, which you can see on the table as well. I mean it – I really ate it all. When I ran out of chips and just started eating it with a spoon. That’s not weird, right? ;)

Later we went to Big Chicks, a bar in Uptown. I was a bit more reasonable with dinner, and had a Portobella burger and a side salad with a vinaigrette dressing.

Dinner

Sadly, I was a bit distracted by all the fun we had to enter it into Training Peaks! Sorry!

Have a good hump day everyone!

Leave a Reply

