WIAW – Cross Country Skiing

Feb. 12, 2014

Today’s What I Ate Wednesday is from Sunday, when I went cross country skiing with my triathlon club. If you’ve not yet heard of WIAW, head on over to Peas and Crayons to read more about it.

I started the day with one of my favorite and very regular breakfasts: 1 cup of Quaker Old Fashioned Oats, 2 tablespoons chopped walnuts, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, and ¼ cup dried fruit – raisins today. And of course, tea in my Space Invaders mug. ;)

Oatmeal and Tea

Since it’s Sunday and I got to sleep in, I had this breakfast sorta late at about 9:30am. We were meeting at 2pm for skiing, and I didn’t want to eat a large meal before that. Since I wasn’t that hungry at about 1ish, but I try not do any sort of workout without eating at least a small bit of food beforehand, I had a granola bar.

Kashi Granola Bar

After the skiing, we met at a coffee shop and I had a tea and a Apricot Cashew Energy Bar (recipe to be posted soon). I wanted to make sure I had some protein after my workout.

Tea and energy bar

The kind of tea I had was Keemun Hao Ya, which is described as – “the highest grade of Keemun available with a rich flavor and aroma which suggests roasted sugar cane, cocoa, and Port Wine.” It was great!

Later that night I had a stir fry made from Gardein Teriyaki chick’n strips, stir fry veggies, and some cashews, and served it over brown rice.

Gardein Stir Fry

For dessert I had a cup of homemade Vegan Hot Chocolate. It was the perfect end to a great wintery day.

Here are the ingredients:

Vegan Hot Chocolate 1

Mix and heat in a pan

Vegan Hot Chocolate 3

Enjoy!

Vegan Hot Chocolate 5

Now…what say you, Training Peaks? My resting metabolic rate is 1360. Based on what I read in a few online calorie calculators, I made a guesstimate that I burned around 500 calories cross country skiing. We skied for about 1.5 hours, but seeing as I spent so much time on my rear end and not actually skiing, haha, I figured I didn’t quite burn as much as a full 1.5 hours skiing. So I based this on 1 hour of skiing. 1360 + 500 = 1860 calories needed today. I ate about 2088 calories, leaving 228 calories. I usually figure I burn about 300-400 just living the dream, so today’s calories seem to be about right.

Cross Country Ski WIAW TP

Little heavy on the fats, but that’s because of all the nuts I ate. It’s pretty unusual for me, so I’m not worried about it.

Have a happy hump day everyone!

Leave a Reply

