WIAW – First Century!

May 28, 2014

Today’s WIAW is from Saturday’s century ride. As always, head on over to Peas and Crayonsfor a full description of WIAW.

I started the day with Monday Morning Museli with honey.

Monday Morning Muesli

For the ride, I had 4 Oatmeal chocolate chip raw bars. I ate 3 on the bike, and one just after the ride. I knew I should have eaten the 4th on the bike, but I was proud for getting 3 down! They’re wrapped Allen Lim quick-tear style, and even though we stopped every 20-25 miles, I practiced eating them on the bike. This resulted in me losing a large chunk of one of them…but that’s why we practice! :)

IMG_3653

I did not use Hammer Heed this ride! I used Hammer Perpetuem, the Strawberry Vanilla flavor. Perpetuem is supposedly designed specifically for long workouts, those lasting 3 or more hours. I had never used it and thought I should try it out. It contains carbohydrates like Heed, but is also 10% soy protein – “the same percentage that is cannibalized from muscle tissue during long, slow endurance workouts.” Um…ok. Yeah lets not let my muscles eat themselves, lol! I don’t know that 1 ride is enough to determine if it’s better or worse than Heed, but it seemed to work just fine. It tasted pretty good, too. I also had one PowerGel Strawberry Banana.

Later, I made a quick stir fry using a bunch of random frozen veggies I found in the freezer (if you haven’t noticed, I’ve been a bit busy lately, and getting the grocery store has not happened for a bit!) and Gardein Beefless strips. I ate it over brown rice.

IMG_3705

Why nothing else later? Because shortly after eating my stir-fry I passed out on my couch…for the night. Well, at midnight-ish I managed to find my bed, but not the fridge on the way. So, no dinner! I made sure to eat a little extra the next day, which was easy since I woke up hungry! I really needed the sleep too, though, probably almost just as much.

Training Peaks

My Garmin tried to convince me that I burned 5,040 calories during the ride. I thought this was a bit much, and consulting with Monique Ryan’s book, I think burning about 10 calories per minute is more reasonable. So according to my Garmin I rode for 5 hours and 36 minutes, so 5 x 60 = 300 + 36 = 336 minutes. Times by 10 per minute is about 3360 calories.

My BMR is 1360 calories, plus 300 for living the dream, which is 1660 calories that I typically burn. Adding the 3360 for the ride and you get 5,020 calories burned for the day.

If you enter everything I ate into Training Peaks, I ate about 3,500 calories. So…yeah. Wayyy down on calories. (Am I right, Shannon? ;) )

I swear….one of these days I’ll give you a WIAW where I actually balanced out, lol! *sigh* Well, I’m keeping it real.

Here are the Macros:

First Century WIAW

A little heavy on fat, but that’s because of all the nuts in the muesli and the bars, so they’re good fats. Overall I’m pretty happy with it. My planned dinner was spaghetti, so I have a feeling the carbs would have gone up a bit had I not slept through it ;)

Leave a Reply

