WIAW – First ride of the year

April 9, 2014

Today’s WIAW is from last Sunday, which was the first outdoor ride of the year! As always, credit goes to Peas and Crayons for the WIAW idea.

I had some stale bread and some silken tofu that needed to be used up, so the day started out with Freedom French Toast from La Dolce Vegan. (FYI, How it all Vegan is a better book, but I can’t find my copy…grrrr).

Freedom French Toast

3/4 cup soft or silken tofu

2 tbsp maple syrup

3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup apple juice or water

1 tbsp oil

4-6 large slices of bread, stale.

Blend everything but bread in a food processor. Dip bread into batter to coat both sides. Fry on skillet until golden brown.

Since it’s “Freedom French Toast” I went ahead and was cheesy and added some strawberries, blueberries, and powdered sugar for some red, white, and blue. ;)

Freedom French Toast Final

For lunch before the ride I had a vegetarian version of “cashew chicken” using gardein teriyaki chick strips, cashews, and basmati rice. I forgot to take a pic, but I had some of the leftovers (same amount) at work the next day, so here’s a pic…just pretend I was on my couch and not at my desk:

Cashew ChickenAlright…confession time. When I arrived at Greg’s house, he informed me he still had leftover ice cream cake from his girlfriend’s birthday party on Friday. I protested and protested and protested…ok, I pretty much said “sure!” when it was offered, much to everyone’s surprise, including my own. I mean, it’s birthday cake…it would be rude if I didn’t….and hey! It’s carbs! Before a ride, so it totally makes sense! Right? Right. All three of us had a piece.

DQ cake

Even Fuzzy tried to get in on on some cake action…don’t worry, I fought him off:

Fuzzy tries to mooch

During the ride I had 1.5 scoops of Hammer Heed dissolved in water.

After the ride/run we had some spicy hummus (It really is spicy…the green is mostly from peppers) and chips, and I had a Raw Cashew Chocolate bar that I packed:

hummus and chipsRaw Cashew Chocolate Bar

Later that night I had burritos, which you’ve seen before, and of course, a Fat Tire since I wore my Fat Tire jersey :)

Burritos final

Training Peaks:

There was a fair amount of estimating today due to the cake and the hummus, which I didn’t make or measure, but I went ahead and gave it my best shot in Training Peaks:

Training Peaks First Ride

Training Peaks estimated I burned 2,569 calories and ate 2,810, for a surplus of 241 calories, which is just about right. And it felt right too.

Leave a Reply

