WIAW – Ironman Hill Repeat Day

May 14, 2014

Today’s WIAW is from Saturday’s Ironman Hill Repeat Day. As always, head over to Peas and Crayons for a full description of WIAW.

The day started out with Oatmeal and tea, which you’ve seen before. As usual, I added some brown sugar, walnuts, and dried fruit:

Oatmeal

After the Sole Burner 5k, Greg brought me a cookie from the food tent. It would have been rude not to eat it, so I did so ;) :

Cookie

I had some green tea at Starbucks, but nothing to eat. I probably should have.

Anyway, when I got back to Oshkosh, I had just enough time to create a quick lunch before meeting Jenny and Amy for the trip to Madison. I quick made some wraps with veganaise, sriracha, some veggies, and tofu. The veggies are actually a stir fry mix I had in the fridge that I gave a good chop. It was better than it sounds…and quick! :)

Wraps 1Wraps 2

I had two of the wraps.

For the ride, I packed two chocolate almond raw bars, an oatmeal chocolate chip raw bar, and a Bonk Breaker bar. However, I wasn’t as hungry as I thought I would be, and I was dealing with some stomach cramping during the first part of the ride, so I couldn’t quite get a much solid food down as I had wanted. I ate the Oatmeal bar on the way into Cross Plains, and the Bonk Breaker just before repeating Timber Ln. I never got to the chocolate raw bars :/.

Energy Bars actual

Not pictured: 3 scoops of Hammer Heed, 1/2 bottle Gatorade, and 1 Gu Lemon Lime Gel (taken before repeating Timber Ln as well).

After the ride, we went to an Italian restaurant that was also a steak house, Avanti Italian Steak House. As a vegetarian, I often don’t do well at anything with “steak” or “Texas” in the title of the restaurant, but I often can to very well at Italian restaurants. This one was great – I had a salad with raspberry vinaigrette dressing, and bread.

Salad and Bread

Then for my main course I had portobello ravioli in a marinara sauce:

Portobello Ravioli

We didn’t have a dessert, and by the time I got home I was exhausted, so I didn’t eat anything else.

Training Peaks

I never did try to enter this into Training Peaks. There would have been a lot of guessing with dinner for sure. Speaking of, I will say I ate the majority of the bread basket at the table, which will come as no surprise for most of you :)

Although I don’t have the data to support it, I feel like I didn’t eat enough or maybe just barely enough. This could have been due to the stomach issues at the start of the ride that kept me from eating, but these didn’t last very long.

According to rates of calorie burn taken from Monique Ryan’s book, I burned about 1800 calories during the bike and another 200 during the run for a total of 2000. My Resting metabolic rate is 1360, and I allow myself 300 for living the dream. So that’s”

2000 + 1360 + 300 = 3,360 calories burned.

Again, not sure exactly what I ate, but I think I must have been close, since I wasn’t starving at any point in the day, and I also was never “misra-full” or even just too full. Still, I will probably need to take in more calories during the actual event.

Well – have a good night, dear reader :) Happy Hump Day!!

Leave a Reply

