WIAW – Spinning Day

March 25, 2014

Welcome to another What I Ate Wednesday. As always, I must give credit to Peas and Crayons for giving me the idea. Today’s WIAW was from Sunday during my run/spin day.

For breakfast, I had oatmeal, but I put a little twist on it. I heard about adding pumpkin to oatmeal, and pumpkin is so good for you, so I found this recipe for pumpkin oatmeal on allrecipes.com and used it for inspiration. I used the oatmeal, pumpkin, and pumpkin pie spice. But I added 2 tablespoons of chopped walnuts and 1/4 cup of raisins too. It was so good! Definitely doing it again.

Pumpkin Oatmeal

I had a cup of plain black tea too, in my Wonder Woman mug to motivate me for the hard workout ahead! :)

During the 30 minute run I did before the spin, I didn’t have anything but some sips of Hammer Heed. On the bike I had 3 scoops of Hammer Heed dissolved between two 20-oz water bottles, 2 more bottles of just water, and 2 Rise and Shine bars. And yes, I was *soaked* with sweat at the end of the ride. I did have a to pee at the end of it – a good sign I wasn’t too dehydrated – but just to be safe, I had a 5th water bottle in the hour after the ride.

Rise and Shine bars

These bars are sorta crumbly. On a real bike, they would be hard to eat, but on the spin bike where I can use both hands to eat them, I figured they would be ok. I was right.

Afterwards, I had whole wheat spaghetti with pasta sauce with spinach and a cup of Boca ground crumbles, which is a vegan alternative to ground beef. I added so many of the crumbles to help make sure I was getting protein. I made this the night before but didn’t bother to keep the sauce separate. That meant the sauce got sorta soaked into the crumbles and spaghetti. Oh well. It still tasted good, and I was tired and just wanted something easy to nuke and eat. Which is what I did.

Spaghetti

I did get a little more involved for dinner. I made burritos. For the innards, I used fat free refried beans*, more spinach, and some taco seasoning**. I added some sliced jalapenos, and rolled them in whole wheat tortillas. I covered them with salsa and then added some multigrain tortilla chips. Oh and of course, a Fat Tire in honor of all my biking today :)

Burritos openBurritos final

Training Peaks

We didn’t really run all out for our 30 minute run, so I estimate our pace at 10:00/mile, for a total estimate of 300 calories. Again, from Monica Ryan’s tables, I burned about 8.7 calories per minute spinning, and spun for 2.5 hours, or 150 minutes. So, 8.7 x 150 = 1,305. Plus 300 for the run, so about 1600 calories were burned during the workout. Adding 1360 for my resting metabolic rate = 2,960 calories, minimum, burned during the day. Training Peaks says I ate 3150 all together, for a difference of about 190 calories. Given I allow myself about 300 calories per day for living the dream, I’d say that’s about right. Probably could have eaten a little more. Eh. I also was not hungry during the day at any point, which is another (much less scientific but very important) check on the calorie balance.

Overall, I was pretty happy with the mix of carbs and protein too:

WIAW Spinning Day

*Refried beans are often made with lard, an animal fat…look for vegetarian of fat free to make sure you don’t get lardy ones if you’re veggie :)

**Make your own taco seasoning, it’s way cheaper and just as good.

Leave a Reply

