WIAW – Today!

April 23, 2014

Today’s WIAW is a review of what I ate today. Mostly because I was very inattentive with photographing any other days. :) As always, head over to Peas and Crayons for a full description of WIAW.

Today started with a Raw Chocolate Cashew Energy Bar:

First Breakfast

I also had 1.5 scoops of Hammer Heed while doing a 70 minute spin workout, followed by a 2 mile run on the treadmill.

After my workout, I had a huge pile of tofu scramble and some toast with strawberry jam before starting my workday:

Tofu Scramble and toast

For lunch, I had a salad. I know! I actually ate a vegetable, rather than just carbs and protein for once!

Lunch Salad

Before leaving work, I had some Lentil Salad from the Moosewood restaurant Low-Fat Favorites Cookbook. It got a bit watery because I made it this weekend and that happens, but it was delicious, I promise. What is so great about this salad is that it’s curried, and the dressing includes mango chutney, which is a great combination of flavors.

Lentil Salad

After work, I attended the 7th Annual Dr. Darold A Treffert Lecture Series at Marian University, presented by Dr. Treffert and several of my colleagues. It is an honor and a privilege to work with Dr. Treffert, a world renowned expert on Savant Syndrome and Autism, as well as my other colleagues, so of course I joined them. I tried my hardest to avoid having to speak (I’m phobic of public speaking) but I unfortunately could not avoid the microphone – Ugh!

When I got home and entered everything into Training Peaks, I realized I was a little low on carbs – very unusual for me – and I felt I deserved a little treat for actually speaking in public and doing, according to my colleagues, a good job of it. So I had some toast with bananas and honey. It was quick and easy, and it was just perfect.

Banana toast

Training Peaks

Here’s what Training Peaks says:

TP Treffert Day

Overall, I burned 2160 and ate 2530, for a surplus of 370 calories. Since I try allow myself about 300 for living the dream, I’d say that’s pretty good.

I’m pretty tuckered after this long day, so I’m headed to bed.

Oh and happy Earth Day!!

Leave a Reply

