YMCA at Pabst Farms

Feb. 10, 2014

This morning I got to travel to Pewaukee, WI to watch Temple Grandin speak. (She was amazing! I love her!) Since I like to workout in different places to keep things interesting, I decided that rather than swim at my own Y and drive down, I would drive down and swim at a different Y instead. Part of why I am a member of the Y is because when you a member at one, you can generally use any other Y you want to. So that makes traveling easier and sometimes makes workouts more interesting. So today’s finish line was the YMCA at Pabst Farms in Oconomowoc, WI.

YMCA at Pabst Farms MapYMCA pabst farms outside

(Exterior photo courtesy of Oliver Construction Website)

The YMCA at Pabst Farms looks like a fairly new YMCA. It was very nice. For the aquatics area, they have the typical new YMCA build of a kids/leisure pool and separate competition/lap pool, which I love. Here’s a pic of the competition/lap pool:

YMCA at Pabst Farms pool

I took the lane farthest to the left.

YMCA at Pabst Farms lane fuzzy

Usually these lanes on the end are the biggest, because they leave a foot or so of space between the wall and where the lane line would go. That extra space makes sharing a lane a little easier. And I did have to share for a bit when I first started, because they took out 5 lanes for a water aerobics class and left 3 for lap swimmers. I was worried I wouldn’t get one at all, but the gentleman who was in the left hand side of the lane was very kind and said he had just finished, so I took his spot when he got out. I didn’t get to talk to the woman on the other half of the lane, who was hugging her kickboard to her chest and kicking and kicking and kicking. She kicked for 20 minutes nonstop after I started before leaving the lane.

YMCA at Pabst Farms Garmin after swim

I swam for about an hour, and covered 3500 yards according to my Garmin 910xt. Yes, I know it looks ridiculously big on my wrist. It’s big, and I actually do have really small wrists. I stopped once for Hammer Heed, and another time for some more Heed and a GU Sublime Lime gel. I felt great throughout the swim!

I went upstairs to do a little strength training afterwards. Their weight area was a bit small, but it was ok for what I needed.

YMCA at Pabst Farms weight room

On the way to the weight area, I passed by the group cycling room.

YMCA at Pabst Farms spin room 1YMCA at Pabst Farms spin room 3

It looks like a nice room! I love that it has a bunch of windows! Totally jealous! Neither the group cycling room in Appleton or Oshkosh has a window.

Happy Monday!!!

Leave a Reply

